The new IPhO website is active!

Join the IPhO community

Education is not the learning of facts, but the training of the mind to think

- Albert Einstein

Dear Olympiad Participants,

On behalf of the organizing and academic committees, we take great pleasure in inviting you to the 50th IPhO, which will be held at Tel Aviv, Israel, from the 7th to the 15th of July 2019.

The International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) is an annual competition in physics for high school students, which involves individual theoretical and experimental contests in Physics.

The 50th IPhO is organized and supported by the Ministry of Education of Israel, and the School of Physics and Astronomy at Tel Aviv University is hosting the Olympiad and is responsible for its academic program.

The Tel Aviv University School of Physics and Astronomy has been home to world leading scientists such as Professor Yuval Neeman, known for his discovery of the classification of hadrons through the SU(3) flavor symmetry, and Professor Yakir Aharonov for the famous Aharonov –Bohm effect.

The Physics Olympiad is important since it introduces physics to many young students around the world, popularizes the field and therefore guarantees that talented young people will join this important branch of science. During the Physics Olympiad students exchange ideas with others in a friendly atmosphere. Thus, the seeds of cooperation and friendship among students from all over the world are planted during the event. Both committees will do their best to make the competition challenging and memorable.

Many of you will visit Israel for the first time. During your stay, you will have a chance to get a flavor of the culture, people and landmarks of Israel. We are confident that it will be an enjoyable experience.

See you soon in Israel!

Dr. Ofer Rimon
Chair of the Steering Committee Deputy General Manager & CIO, Ministry of Education

Prof. Alexander Palevski
Chair of the Academic Committee, The Carol and Melvin S. Taub Chair in Applied Physics School of Physics and Astronomy, Tel Aviv University

Dr. Eli Raz
Chair of the Organizing Committee, ORT Braude College

Yigal Dor
Manager of Excellence in STEM, Education Division, Ministry of Education